Surya Jayanthi 2023

Author – Padmaja Vangala

Sri Ganeshaya namaha
Sri Gurubhoy namaha
Sri lakshmi Nrusihma Parabrahmane Namaha

Surya Jayanthi 2023

The sun is the creator and light of all living beings. He is the solar deity and one of the chief deities in Panchayatan Pooja. Magh Month is the 11th month in the Hindu calendar, representing the 11th Zodiac Sign of Aquarius and Lord Sun’s transit into Aquarius. Based on Astrology and mythology Lord Sun and Lord Shani are father and Son but are Enimical to each other.

On Magha Shukla Saptami, Lord Sun is believed to travel with his Chariot, which is the Kala Chakra or Dharma Chakra or wheel of time known as Samvastara. He is also believed to have his Seven Horses, Gayatri, Brihati, Usnik, Jagati, Tristup, Anustup, and Pankti, harnessed by Arundev looking back and carrying Adityadev.

These seven horses are Vedic meters associated with Rushi Vedic Mantras such as Gayatri Chandaha, Brihati Chandaha, Usnik Chandaha, Jagati Chandaha, Tristup Chandaha, Anushtap Chandaha, and Pankti Chandaha respectively. Lord Sun is the eye and Atma of the entire universe and the king of all planets.

Lord Sun is the Son of Kashyap rushi and Aditi mata called Aditya born on Magh Shukla Saptami celebrated as Surya Jayanti who is the pioneer of the Solar dynasty. The movements of the Sun determine Dakshinayan and Uttarayana. When the sun travels towards the South Equator, the duration of the day decreases and the duration of the night increases and enters karkataka rashi on 16th/17th September every year till 14/15th of January, and Sun rises on the southeast known as dakshinayan.

On the 16/17th of September, the sun moves from the North equator to Makar Rasi. Every year, the night begins when the sun enters Makar Rasi on the 14/15th of January every year and continues until the next day. In addition, the night decreases.

The sun rises in the North East, also known as Uttarayana. Therefore the Sun travels in Karnataka, Simha, Kanya, Vrischika and Dhanu Rasi is Dakshinayan and Makar, Kumbh, Meena, Vrishabh, and Mithun Rasi is Uttarayana. The duration of day and night is equal when the sun travels in Mesha Rasi and Tula Rasi; in Mesha Rasi, the sun is exalted and in Tula Rasi, it is debilitated. The sun rises and sets along with all other planets in a day.

By its radiation, the sun passes through these zodiac signs, giving equal light to all living beings in the universe. With this influence, time is calculated by the sun’s rays. Even today it is evident that the first sun temple was Konark Temple in Odisha State. It is surrounded by a wheel of time representing the Twelve Zodiac signs built in the 13th Century by King Narasimhadeva of the Ganga Dynasty. Arunachal Pradesh will experience the first day of sunlight when the Earth rotates from West to East. The first sunset in India is also observed in Arunachal Pradesh as well. Globally New Zealand was the first country to see sunlight.

Brahma worships the sun in the early hours, Lord Shiva in the afternoon, and Lord Vishnu in the evening. Surya is the spiritual Guru of Lord Rama and the spiritual father of Karna. In Astrology, he is Lord of Simha Rasi and represents Sunday.

The crucial days are Makara Sankranti, Surya Shanti, Ratha Saptami, Samba Dashami, Ravi Pushyami, Ravi Hastha, Chath Pooja, and Mela. The rituals on this day are taking an early shower, offering Arghya, preparing Payasam, drawing Rangoli, and gathering with people to perform pooja of Surya Narayan.

Additionally, we will Chant Surya Atharvashirshyam and Aditya Hridayam with Vedic Mantras. The purpose of rituals is to promote harmony and maintain healthy relationships with others. In Tirumala, on the occasion of Ratha Sapthami a grand event is celebrated to honor Lord Balaji with seven types of Vahana. This is done from 5.30 A.M. to 8.00 P.M. as Ardha Brahamotsavam.


Leave a comment