Vaikuntha Ekadashi 2022

Author – Padmaja Vangala

Sri GaneshayaNamaha
Sri GurubhoyNamaha
Sri Lakshmi NrusimhaParabrahmane Namaha

According to the Hindu calendar, there are two Ekadashi in a month. One falls on ShuklaPaksha and another is on KrishnaPaksha. In a year, there are 24 Ekadashi with unique names. In this year’s Dhanurmasam, Pushya Shukla Ekadashi is also known as PutrdaEkadashi and Vaikuntha Ekadashi. After Yognidra, Lord Vishnu abode at Vaikuntham with his wife Lakshmi Devi.

Date of Vaikuntha Ekadashi:

In Plavanama year, PushyaShukla Ekadashi is Vaikuntha Ekadashi, which falls on Thursday, 13/1/22. This year, it is a special occasion as Bhogi/Pongal and Vaikuntha Ekadashi are on the same day and also the last day of Dhaurmasam.

Significance of Vaikuntha Ekadashi:

Sri Mahavishnu reached Vaikuntha on this Ekadashi after Yognidra. He was praised and worshipped by Three crores God at Vaikuntham known as Mukoti Ekadashi. The Story of Ekadashi is described in Vishnu and Padma Purana’s. The demon Mura harassed and forcibly occupied the seat of God. All God’s requested Lord Shiva to extend his help. He directed to seek the help of Lord Vishnu. When Lord Vishnu realized their pain, he decided to kill demon Mura. Then Lord Vishnu went to Badrinath temple and performed Hymavathi Sadhana to kill the demon Mura.

When Demon Mura came to know that Lord Vishnu performed Hymavathi Sadhana to kill him, he immediately reached Badrikashram to kill Lord Vishnu. Demon Mura tried to Kill Vishnu while he is sleeping. Lord Shakti raised from the eyes of Vishnu and killed Demon Mura. After killing him, Shakti prayed to Lord Vishnu and wanted to know “Who and What I am”. Then, Sri Maha Vishnu named Shakti “Ekadashi” Which means Vision of Vishnu and she acquired a boon to become Eleventh Tithi of Fortnight with two Ekadashi in a month. Therefore Ekadashi being Shakti of Vishnu became the prominent day for Vaishnav. The 24 names of Lord Vishnu are related to 24 Ekadashi.

Vaikuntha Ekadashi 2022

Procedure and Pooja:

Like every Ekadashi devotes follow fasting, perform Pooja with Holy basil leaves (tulsi) by chanting Vishnu Sahasranam. Bhagwat Geeta is also recited. On this day devotees take darshan of Lord Vishnu from North gate (Uttardwaram), which is known as Vaikunthadwara. At Srirangam Temple, Sri Tirumala Balaji and all Vishnu temples around the world celebrate UttaraDwaraDarshan.

Srirangam temple is an important pilgrimage to all Vaishnavas. It is called “BhoolokaVaikuntham”. Followers of Vishnu Bhagwan will have to visit once Srirangam temple in their lifetime as it is Vaikuntha on earth. Vishnu devotees pray to reach Vaikuntha after their demise. Sri Ranganatha Swamy of Srirangam temple is the Kuldevatha (Family Lineage) of Lord Sri Rama. SadaShiva is the disciple of Maha Vishnu and he observes Ekadashi. Therefore, Shiva devotes follow this Ekadashi as Trikoti Ekadashi.

Result of Ekadashi:

This Ekadashi is a prominent Tithi to get rid of sins. Devotes who observe Ekadashi fulfill their desire and attain moksha. No occurrence of rebirth after demise. This Ekadashi is also known as Putrda. Those who follow this Vrat are blessed with a Male child and after demise, they reach Swarg (Vaikuntha) abode of Narayan.

Other Names of PaushyaEkadashi:

1.Vaikuntha Ekadashi
2.Mukkoti Ekadashi
3.Trikoti Ekadashi.
4.Swargavathi Ekadashi.
5.Putrada Ekadashi.

You Can Check Important dates in the month of January




Leave a comment